Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Babus

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    10
    I believe that Valve's current minimum spec is woefully inaccurate in reference to TF2.
    I was wondering what tech the members of this community are rockin today. If anyone wants to help with this study, please post your specs, and what settings and how well tf2 runs on your PC. I am running really modern hardware that runs the game at maxed settings with great performance, but I have many less fortunate friends. A good idea of what could run these source-based games would be helpful to not only myself, but others looking to get into these games for the cheapest amount of money possible.


    Valve's Minimum Spec

    • OS: Windows? 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP
    • Processor: 1.7 GHz Processor or better
    • Memory: 512 MB RAM
    • DirectX: Version 8.1
    • Network: Broadband Internet connection
    • Storage: 15 GB available space

  2. #2
    Threadworm Dragonfist's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    In the wild cornfields of Illinois
    Posts
    767
    Lets see, I'm running
    -windows 10, Home Edition
    -M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
    -AMD FX 6300,(6 core, 3.5ghz)
    -8 gigs ram
    -GTX 750 Ti, overclocked
    -TF2 currently takes up 23.5 gigs

    I get anywhere from 35-100 fps, depending on how chaotic the game is (explosions, bullets, particle effects, etc). I run my game at near maxed settings. (motion blur off, vertical sync off and some other tweaks)

    What do you have in your machine?
    Last edited by Dragonfist; 10-31-2017 at 10:45 AM.


    Hey! Hey you! If you're working on a project, and you want help, message me! Don't be shy! I'm the guy to ask!

  3. #3
    Forum Babus

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfist View Post
    What do you have in your machine?
    I am currently rocking:
    Windows 10 Home Edition
    ASUS H170 Pro Gaming
    Intel i5 6600k (Yes I know I am stupid for buying a K but it was cheaper)
    16 GB of DDR4 2133
    MSI GTX 1070
    256 GB OS SSD
    1 TB Games Drive

    Runs TF2 like a dream. I have struggled in the past though so I feel the pain.

    When I first got into TF2, I played on a Toshiba Laptop:
    2.1 Ghz Penryn-Based Pentium
    Intel GMA- motherboard integrated graphics
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    300 GB Hard Drive
    1366 by 768 Display
    4 GB of DDR2 Ram

    That device required me to set everything to minimum and do all the console tweaks to even get 30 FPS in the intel room on ctf_2fort without anything going on in the way of explosions or bullets. Basically Unplayable.
    Last edited by Alleyman588; 10-31-2017 at 06:54 PM. Reason: Added my previous gaming experience

  4. #4
    Threadworm Dragonfist's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    In the wild cornfields of Illinois
    Posts
    767
    Quote Originally Posted by Alleyman588 View Post
    2.1 Ghz Penryn-Based Pentium
    Intel GMA- motherboard integrated graphics
    1366 by 768 Display
    4 GB of DDR2 Ram
    My soul died a little but when I read that. I'm sorry you had to endure that.


    Hey! Hey you! If you're working on a project, and you want help, message me! Don't be shy! I'm the guy to ask!

  5. #5
    Forum Babus

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    10
    Yea. Around 2014 I upgraded to an HP Pavilion
    Genius me thought APUs were the thing. I was pretty off on that.

    Anyways
    AMD A8-6500
    8Gb DDR3 1600 Single channel Ram -do not know what genius paired that with an APU
    2 TB Hard Drive
    Win 8 Later upgraded to Win 10

    Basically an AMD FX-4300 on the CPU side with Graphics performance rivaling a GT 210
    Was glad when I upgraded GPU to a GTX 960 until I realized I was getting CPU bottlenecked into oblivion.
    Pre-960
    Ran TF2 on low settings on 720p with decent FPS in active scenes

    Post-960
    Maxed out good experience. But the thing still couldn't play arma

  6. #6
    Bunch rich kids with the 1070s and 1080s, I still run tf2 on my potato pc.
    My PC spec:
    i5-2320
    8gb ram
    GTX 1050 ti 4Gb vram.
    2 TB hard drive
    windows 10 home edition
    27 inch acer monitor.
    Logitech G302 mouse
    Red Dragon mechanical keyboard.
    It runs tf2 pretty well and I am thinking upgrade my pc in the near feature. Still waiting for the gtx 1070 to drop the price.
    KEEP
    CALM
    AND
    BLAME
    LOUIS

  7. #7
    lulouis thats not a potato pc LOL. i5, gtx 1050ti, 2tb hard drive, and 8 gb of ram is like a above average pc.

  8. #8
    Forum Ace fancy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    1,108
    Boi that rig is in the 95th percentile, anything but a potato pc.

  9. #9
    Threadworm Dragonfist's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    In the wild cornfields of Illinois
    Posts
    767
    Pretty sure he's either showing off or sarcastic. *Running a good cpu, newest series gpu, nice keyboard and mouse...*


    Hey! Hey you! If you're working on a project, and you want help, message me! Don't be shy! I'm the guy to ask!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfist View Post
    Pretty sure he's either showing off or sarcastic. *Running a good cpu, newest series gpu, nice keyboard and mouse...*
    I actually upgraded my PC a year ago, it was running a gtx 610 gpu and 4gb of ram and I used to run tf2 at 720p.
    Good old days.
    KEEP
    CALM
    AND
    BLAME
    LOUIS

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Contribute to Reflex

We Appreciate Your Support
Monthly Goal:50.00 Received:25.00
50% 
May-18  LizardoX  USD5.00
May-17  TheForgeMa...  USD5.00
May-16  Great_Lone...  USD5.00
May-10  |FEIC| Tri...  USD5.00
May-1  Serial Rak...  USD5.00

May 2019

S M T W T F S
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.0